Posted by: The Jewell Family | June 1, 2013

Working out the kinks

We have been learning how to get along in the new area we are living in.  One thing is the phone and internet.  We were not able to get a phone line installed where we are now living.  I discovered that a substitute 3g network phone and internet service is available for people in our situation.  I purchased the router and service, but it has a limited amount of service available, and never seems to make it through the month without using all of my time.  There is no unlimited service available.  So I got an android phone with an internet (limited) plan.  Again, there is no unlimited plan available.  We are getting it worked out, but I am going to have to pay more each month for our hime plan if wr are going to have service that lasts the entire month.

Another area that has a kink is with one of our new neighbors.  I now have a neighbor who plays his worldly musuc very loudly during the daytime.  His music is so loud that it echos throughout my entire house.  We have spoken to him, but he has made it clear that he isn’t changing for us.  Initially I prayed that the Lord would break his radio.  That might not be the most spiritual way to pray, but a day later we had silence.  It was quiet for a little over a week, then the music was back.  I found out his system did break down and it took him a little over a week to get it fixed.  I stopped praying for it to break and started praying for him to be saved.  Please join me in this prayer.  In the meantime, I have a speaker that I put between his and my house that I use to play good music (loudly) when he plays his loudly.  We’re stilling trying to work out this kink.

Another is the electrical and water problems.  We haven’t had water for five or six days.  We save up water in tanks (the smallest holds 265 gallons).  I just learned how to take a tank to a certain place outside of town on a trailer to fill it up free.  I bring it home and pump the water into a tank on my roof whete it is gravity-fed into the house…kink worked out. 

I mention the electricity also.  Our electricity is only on fir about 6 to 8 hours a day.  I learned that we are on a dividing line of two sectors.  We ran a new electrical line to the sector behind us and can now switch between the two.  This has given us over 12 hours of electricity in a 24 hour day.  We still have the problem of low voltage, but we are thankful for what we have.  By the way, both sides are off and we are without electricity as I write this blog entry.  Kink mostly worked out.  We need solar panels.  That is the next big investment.

There are a few more kinks I could mention, but I just noticed this entry is getting pretty long.  We’ll keep working on these kinks to see if we can get it all worked out.  We’re still learning after 13 years.

Roger

Responses

  1. Hang in there Roger. The Lord knows all your struggles. He knows where you are what you need. I pray that your neighbor will soon receive Jesus. May the Lord give you wisdom during all these kinks your having there. Take care of yourself and your family. Tell Kathy hello for me. It was good to receive the picture as well.
    God bless you.
    Ruth Courtney


Leave a Reply

Categories

